Well it’s been some time since I’ve posted anything. Life has been busy and full of changes. I’m now home from my mission and working for a great company in South Jordan UT. Without the missionary schedule, I’ve struggled to keep up on my scripture reading. Now that I have an hour lunch each day, I take advantage of that time by reading my Book of Mormon while at work. At first you might think perfect place for distraction right? I thought so too but figured anything is better than nothing. I am pleasantly surprised with how well my study has gone thus far!

In Helaman chapter 4, I read of how the Nephites are defeated in battle because of their wickedness. Iniquity cases the church to dwindle, meaning (as defined on dictionary.com) it became smaller and smaller, to shrink or waste away, to fall away as in quality. Why is it that people can go from a solid testimony of the gospel and church of Jesus Christ to almost being against it? The testimony they had dwindles slowly until it becomes nonexistent. Reading about the Nephites defeat and the church’s dwindling, I understood why and how this happens. In verse 23 it tells of the results of a dwindling church and iniquitous people…”they began to disbelieve in the spirit of prophecy and in the spirit of revelation.” Disbelief. When we stop doing the do’s or do any of the don’ts, our testimony of the church dwindles. It’s a vicious cycle, spiraling downward, because with a dwindling testimony, our desire to live the gospel dies and soon follows the remaining fragments of our testimony.

If we want to stay strong in the gospel, we need to avoid sin. Of course we can’t and won’t be perfect but we can utilize the Atonement of our Savior to overcome our weaknesses. Repentance isn’t enough. We need to being doing those small and simple things each day to keep our testimonies from dwindling. Repetition is essential in remembering. If we aren’t consistently reading our scriptures, saying our prayers, and attending church, we begin to forget. We forget the things we knew to be true and the importance they hold in our lives. It’s the continuity of the living the gospel that strengthens and sustains our testimony of Christ’s true church. I’m thankful for my testimony of the daily do’s of the gospel. By doing so, I can remain true to the faith and to my Savior!