My last blog as a missionary…I decided to touch on a subject that I have seen personally in effect. Before I entered the Missionary Training Center in Feb. 2010, I talked in sacrament meeting as a farewell to my family and friends. The topic I was asked to address was turning weakness into strength. Being at the start of my mission, I knew I’d be turning some of my weak points into assets. Now that I’m at the end of my mission, I can look back with satisfaction on how I have grown. Certain weaknesses of mine are now a strength, maybe not my greatest strength (yet), but much more so than 17 months ago. Ralph Waldo Emerson explains this process perfectly,”that which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do; not that the nature of the thing itself is changed, but that our power to do is increased.”

Of course, I know it is because of my Savior that I have been able to improve upon my imperfections. A biblical account found in John 9:2-3 testifies of His power to change our weaknesses into strengths. It reads:

2 And his disciples did ask him, saying, Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind?

3 Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him.

The word manifest really stood out to me when I read this. We read that word a lot in the scriptures and understand what it means but I wanted a solid definition. Manifest is to make clear or evident to the eye or the understanding; to show plainly, to put beyond doubt or question. Synonyms of the word manifest include obvious, apparent, unmistakable. The blind man becomes fully aware of Christ’s power to turn his weakness into a strength. This account manifests to us that He can do the same in our lives.

A quote by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf explains how Christ can change us. “We must try…try and keep on trying until that which seems difficult becomes possible–and that which seems only possible becomes habit and a real part of you.” I don’t know about you but to me, that sounds very doable! It really is as simple as that; doing something consistently until it becomes second nature. God wants commitment, not just conversation. I can speak from experience that as we trust in our Savior, we can do whatever might be required of us. I felt the enabling power of His atonement filling in where I lacked as I began my mission. I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!

As a representative of Jesus Christ, I testify that the Church of Jesus Christ as He organized it originally was lost for many centuries along with the priesthood authority of God, but because He loves His children, He called another prophet to restore said church and priesthood. I have spent the last 17 months teaching this most remarkable message. I have seen it change the lives of many who have found a special place in my heart! I know Joseph Smith translated the Book of Mormon and that it is the word of God! Through those ancient scriptures, all can know of the truthfulness of this message. As I’ve said countless times on my mission and will continue to say til my dying breath: THE CHURCH IS SO TRUE!

