Independence from others is applauded and praised by the world. The goal of our teenage years is to learn how to and become independent from our parents. Graduating high school leads to moving away from home and into separate apartments, getting a job and attending college or university. It almost seems the more free you are from relying on others the better. But the Lord would not and does not agree with that idea.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths.

Our Saviors cry is found in Matthew 11:28-30 when He tells us to let him carry our burden. Don’t try to carry it yourself. We can’t do this alone and we’re not expected to. “Look unto me in every thought. Doubt not. Fear not” (D&C 36:6). What a change of perspective that is! To rely on the Lord. Let him worry for you! There is an example of when God chastises His followers for not depending on Him more. D&C 30:1 “…you have feared man and have not relied on me for strength as you ought.”

I find this counsel comforting. God doesn’t want me to go through life on my own. He knew all the things I would face and He knew what I need, a Savior who could carry me when I lose the strength to more forward. We are instructed by the Lord to live life backwards and instead of being independent of Him, we’re suppose to cleave unto Him.

